The Tax Collector of Indian River County provides full driver license services (including computer testing and road tests).  As an agent for the State of Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the Tax Collector must follow the procedures set forth in the Florida State Statutes and Administrative Rules.

Important information about Motor Vehicle Title & Registration is found here ⟶

Those wishing to obtain a new license, legally change their name, or immediately replace a lost or stolen license or ID card are required to visit a driver license office and show proof of; identification, social security number, legal name changes, and proof of residential address.

ExpressLane

Express Lane is a service that allows residents to expedite their wait time at our offices. If you wish to use this service, you must renew your registration (Yellow Renewal Sticker) online and select "pick up at a tax collector office". You will only be able to pick up your Express Lane renewal at the office that you select at the time of your checkout. You do not need an appointment to pick up your registration renewal if you choose to use this service.

Residents who use Express Lane checkout can be serviced at the following locations:

Main office: Right drive thru lane
West office: Drive thru lane or walk-in
Sebastian office: Walk-in only

To renew your registration online for Express Lane pickup, click here: https://www.renewexpress.com/indianriver/renewals

Important Information Motor Vehicle Title & Registration:
  • Only the Tax Collector and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can register or title vehicles.
  • Registrations of privately owned vehicles and long-term leased vehicles are valid until midnight on the registrant's birthday. A delinquent fee is charged if the registration is not renewed by the 10th day of the following month.
  • Registration can be renewed up to three months prior to your expiration date.
  • New residents must title and register their vehicles within 30 days of establishing legal residency, accepting employment, or enrolling children in public school.
  • License plates belong to the person/owner, not the vehicle, and may be transferred to a replacement vehicle through an official transaction.  Florida license plates are replaced every 10 years.
  • Automobiles and trucks must have at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and at least $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) insurance.