Home

Services

Payment Methods

Records, Search & Forms

Contact

Email

About

 

 

Individuals who wish to obtain a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License may submit their application electronically at two Indian River Tax Collector’s Offices:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Concealed Weapon License Application service provided at the Tax Collector's Office is designed to allow an applicant to complete the entire application process quickly and conveniently. The Concealed Weapons License Application service is intended to streamline the application screening and review process, thereby reducing the time it takes the Department of Agriculture to issue the license once the application arrives electronically in Tallahassee. Because applications submitted at our office will be pre-screened for completion prior to their being forwarded to Tallahassee, there is less likelihood that the application will include errors or omissions that will result in processing delays.

 

Quick Links

 

Acceptable Training Documentation

Eligibility Requirements

Law Enforcement Applications

Military

Original Application

Renewal Information

 

Application Processing Time

 

Once the Division of Licensing has received your electronic application, it will take about 90 days for the Division to process it and notify you of the outcome. Processing may take longer than 90 days if additional information regarding criminal records must be obtained.

 

Change of Address

 

Section 790.06(8) requires you to notify the Division of Licensing in writing within 30 days after a change of address.

 

Division of Licensing

P.O. Box 6387

Tallahassee, FL 32314-6387

 

Effective February 12, 2010, the Division of Licensing no longer prints the licensee's residence address on teh Florida concealed weapon license. The law does not require you to obtain a revised license after a change of address so you may continue to carry your current license until it expires. If, however, you would like a revised license, please send a written request with a check or money order in the amount of $15 made payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You do not need to send a passport-type color photograph until it is time to renew your license.

 

License Renewal

 

Your Florida Concealed Weapon License is valid for a period of seven years. The expiration date appears on the front of your license. Approximately 150 days prior to the expiration date of your license, the division will send you the renewal form with complete instructions on how to renew your license. If for some reason you fail to renew your license by its expiration date, keep in mind that your Concealed Weapon or Firearm license can be renewed up to six (6) months beyond the expiration date in accordance with section 790.06(11)(a), Florida Statutes. However, there is a late fee of $15 for renewing after the expiration date. A concealed weapon license that has been expired for longer than six months cannot be renewed. If you fail to

renew within that six-month period after expiration, you will have to apply for a new license. You cannot carry a concealed weapon or firearm after your license has expired. (License renewals are processed at the Indian River County Tax Collector’s Office)

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

What should I bring with me to the Tax Collector's Office?

You should have with you the following items/documents when you arrive at our office:

 

Original Licenses

A picture ID (A driver license or State-issued ID card is acceptable).

A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms you are proficient with a firearm.

Payment in the amount of $124.00 via cash, check, or credit card.

If you have ever been arrested, you should bring certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you.

If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien; you must bring official documentation with you that confirms your citizenship status.

 

Renewal Licenses

A picture ID (A driver license or State-issued ID card is acceptable).

Your Concealed Weapon License number or Concealed Weapon License Renewal notice.

Legal name change documentation, if applicable.

Renewal fee of $62.00 (Florida Residents) or $104.00 (Non Residents).

 

How do I make an appointment?

You can make an appointment by calling (772)226-1430 or via email CWLA@IRCTax.com

 

What will happen once I arrive at your office?

First, one of our staff members will direct you to a computer station where you will complete an online application form (please note that you do not need to complete an application form in advance of your appointment). The final step will be to take your photograph and electronically scan your fingerprints.

 

How long will it take to do this?

The average time to complete the entire process is 30 minutes or less.

For futher information regarding the Concealed Weapon License, please visit the Florida Dept. of Agriculture: www.FreshFromFlorida.com.

 

Main Office

1800 27th St., Building B

Vero Beach, FL 32960

Sebastian Office

11610 US Highway 1

Sebastian, FL 32958

Concealed Weapons Information